Halloween=Tulle. Lots and lots of tulle.

This year, I decided to be a little ambitious and put my totally green sewing “skills” (I can thread the machine now.) to use to make Little’s Halloween costume. The Hubs was probably hoping for Yoda or a Padawan (sp?) learner, but ultimately it came down to her favorite movie (tied w/ Lilo & Stitch) and it was clear that she had to be Rapunzel.

I sorted through all the clothes that no longer fit me (for all the right reasons) and picked out two shirts that were a pretty good color match to the looong haired blondie’s dress. I had a vague idea of doing a corset looking top with a shrug to keep her arms warm and I thought a tutu skirt would just be way too cute. Originally I was going to sew the tutu on and have it be poofy, but in an organized fashion. Ultimately, I opted for a no-sew tutu option that could be removed easily and worn on its own. (Though it kind of had a mind of its own.) To give you an idea–The top took me hours to do (and don’t look at the stitching too closely. It’s a mess.), while the tutu skirt took about 20-30 minutes (maybe.) while watching a Bill Engvall comedy special.

I had printed a Rapunzel crown off the Disney Family Fun site, but Little refused to wear it. Surprisingly, she had no problem having Pascal the Chameleon pinned on her shoulder. (It’s all in the details, folks. If I had thought our American Bulldog would have done well with the crowd, I would have dyed her brindle spots white and strapped a saddle to her back so Little could have a Maximus to accompany her.)

We celebrated Halloween on Saturday by going to a kid-friendly Halloween festival (that was more geared toward canines and their wacky owner, but we still had a good time.) so we got our Rapunzel all dressed in the back of Jack. (The name of my Explorer–named for Jack Bauer and Jack Sparrow, as well as the name of the giant polar bear stuffed animal in Little’s room–named for the character on Lost because the polar bear once called the tropical beach playroom home. In the context of this post, I would be referring to the truck. You know, for clarification purposes.) Hopefully not a Halloween tradition, but for both of Little’s Halloweens, she’s gotten an injury just beforehand. Last year, she had a split lip. This year, she had a small cut and bump on her forehead. Poor baby.

How the princess preferred to travel…also, how Little eliminated the need for weight lifting. I should have arms of steel in no time.

Ah, the smile that warms my heart…Total cost of costume? (keeping in mind that the “official” Disney costume that did not come with accessories was retailing for $45)
Ribbon (used 1/3 of a spool) $1.30
Tulle approx. $3.00
Fabric $0.00 (2 of my old shirts)
Thread (had on hand–I should have color-matched to the fabric, but I went with white.) $0.00
Pascal $0.00000001 (we’ll call him free)

So less than $5 on a pretty cute costume (again, don’t look at the white stitching too closely) for a really stinkin’ adorable little girl. As I get better at sewing, I can make costumes that she’ll actually get to wear for dress up afterwards, but the tutu skirt will definitely fit for the next year at least so she’ll get more use out of it. She wasn’t too sure of tulle to start, but now she seems to even like it. And $5 ain’t bad, my friends.

I’m just glad she didn’t scream like a banshee when we tried to put it on her. She sat patiently twice on Saturday while we put it on her. (Once in the morning to make sure it fit and once for the actual trick-or-treating and festival.)

And a flashback to last year when she was a reluctant Tinkerbell (and Momma was approximately 60 pounds heavier…and dressed up as a cowgirl)…

Inspiration/tutorial/printables credits:
Etsy inspiration

Easy no-sew tutu tutorial

Tangled printables (including Pascal)

About agoodlifeforme

I am... a wife (married 3 years to "Hubs"). a momma to an energetic, feisty, smiley "Little" toddler. working full-time, currently using a Psychology degree as a coaster. lifelong never-been-published writer about to subject myself to the query letter twilight zone. addicted to caffeine in the mornings. most myself when I'm creating something. serial multi-tasker. always planning something. in love with the ocean, but live in a land-locked state. starting our own organic vegetable garden after always killing every plant that has been put in my care. learning to sew and hoping I don't stitch through my fingers. stubborn, kind, selective in the company I keep. at a healthy weight. I lost 74 pounds using totally healthy methods. I'm over 100 pounds lighter than I was when Little was born. a runner-in-training.
This entry was posted in The Little and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween=Tulle. Lots and lots of tulle.

  1. What adorable photos. Rapunzel is just so cute! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! And Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

